Guest Posts

Blog Tour: Guest Post: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery

Today I am so happy to bring to you a guest post from Candice Montgomery author of By Any Means Necessary! By Any Means Necessary is a book about friendship, moving on, and bees.

By Any Means Necessary

An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey.
 
On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the bee farm his beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed on.
 
Torrey would love nothing more than to leave behind the family and neighborhood that’s bleeding him dry. But he still feels compelled to care for the project of his uncle’s heart. As the farm heads for auction, Torrey precariously balances choosing a major and texting Gabriel—the first boy he ever kissed—with the fight to stop his uncle’s legacy from being demolished. But as notice letters pile up and lawyers appear at his dorm, dividing himself between family and future becomes impossible unless he sacrifices a part of himself.

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Guest Post

If we wanted to accompany our reading of By Any Means Necessary which tv, music, books, films, plays etc should we watch/read?

My favorite thing to talk about when it comes to books is other relevant media. Other television shows, music and films that one might enjoy if you enjoyed a certain book.

If you enjoyed BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY, I’m going to direct you immediately to two television shows: “Grown-ish” and “Good Trouble.” I love these two shows and watch them religiously. I also re-watch them religiously. No ragrets. Totally without shame. No pleasure is guilty pleasure, true? I feel a lot of love for these shows because they do what I try very earnestly to do in my books. They show the power of found family. Of finding Your PeopleTM. Watch one episode of Grown-ish and tell me you’re not laughing hysterically. Checkout one episode of Good Trouble and tell me you’re not drugged instantly.

Trust me.

If you read BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY and liked it, you might—read: absoflippinglutely will—also enjoy “Love, Simon” because duhhh! In “Love, Simon” you can feel all the nuance of being young and uncertain in every area of your life. Becky Albertalli’s words come through so well on screen and they make quite a number of statements about the way whole communities of people often treat queer people. Also on the film rec list, I’m gonna highly advise you to watch “Moonlight.” If you haven’t already—what are you even doing with your life, kid??? BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY is Black. It’s gay. It’s romantic. It’s revolution. “Moonlight”? All those things, too. And if you’re looking for that Los Angeles State of Mind kinda mentality, a fun, LA-centric flick is “Dope.” It’s just all the things you find in LA, but on a more dramatic, Tumblr-esque, aesthetically pleasing scale.

Music is—and always has been—such an intense love affair for me. Which is why every project I ever write has an incredibly dynamic playlist attached to it. Most of the time, it’s created before I even start to write the book. With BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY, the playlist went from 13 songs pre-drafting to 113 songs at its end. The songs with the most plays on the list are “Hemingway” by the cast of Empire, “hardly” by eery, and Sebastian Kole’s “Love’s On The Way.”

I won’t explain the reasoning behind those songs. If you listen to them, I think you’ll feel enough and immediately find they need little to no explaining at all.

Mixing media when you’ve found a particular book to love only enriches the experience between you and that book. I can’t recommend giving TV, film or music matching a try whenever you find your next great read. Hope these nods gave you a little extra buzz about BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY.

x Cam

Giveaway

Prize: Win a copy of By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery (US/CAN Only)

Starts: October 8th 2019

Ends: October 22nd 2019

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author

Candice “Cam” Montgomery is an LA transplant now living in the woods of Seattle, where she writes Young Adult novels. Her debut novel, HOME AND AWAY can be found online and in stores now, and her sophomore novel, BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY will be released October of 2019. By day, Cam writes about Black teens across all their intersections. By night, she bartends at a tiny place nestled inside one of Washington’s greenest trees. She is an avid Studio Ghibli fan and will make you watch at least one episode of Sailor Moon and listen to one Beyoncé record before she’ll call you “friend.”

Blog Tour Schedule

October 8th

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome Post

October 9th

Utopia State of Mind – Guest Post The Reading Corner for All – Review + Favourite Quotes alymbobby – Review The Reading Life – Promotional Post

October 10th

Here’s to Happy Endings – Review The Layaway Dragon – Review + Favourite Quotes Snark & Squee – Review The Art of Living – Review

October 11th

BookCrushin – Guest Post Flipping Through the Pages – Review + Favourite Quotes Musings of a (Book) Girl – Review Reads Like Supernovae – Review + Favourite Quotes

October 12th

Novelishly – Review Belle’s Archive – Review + Favourite Quotes Booked J – Review The Baroness of Books – Review

October 13th

L.M. Durand – Review + Dream Cast Rosiefrecklereads – Review + Playlist Starlight Reads – Review Little Voids – Review + Favourite Quotes

October 14th

onemused – Review To All The Books I’ve Read Before – Review + Playlist + Dream Cast PopTheButterfly Reads – Review One in a Million – Review

Discussion

Do you have a favorite insect?


Share this post



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.