Book Reviews

Review: The Book of Living Secrets by Madeleine Roux

Can you imagine falling into your favorite book? What a treat. Depending on your book pick, then maybe it’s not such a good idea. But for Adelle and Connie they think that it’s going to be an amazing adventure. Until they realize that nothing is as it seems. Keep reading this book review for my full thoughts.

Summary

No matter how different best friends Adelle and Connie are, one thing they’ve always had in common is their love of a little-known gothic romance novel called Moira. So when the girls are tempted by a mysterious stranger to enter the world of the book, they hardly suspect it will work. But suddenly they are in the world of Moira, living among characters they’ve obsessed about for years.

Except…all is not how they remembered it. The world has been turned upside down: The lavish balls and star-crossed love affairs are now interlaced with unspeakable horrors. The girls realize that something dark is lurking behind their foray into fiction—and they will have to rewrite their own arcs if they hope to escape this nightmare with their lives

Review

(Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.)

TW: panic attacks

As someone who is primarily obsessed with fictional worlds, falling into your favorite might sound like a good idea. For me, I’d just basically immediately die. My fictional worlds are not safe for me. So The Book of Living Secrets is perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood because not only does it have that vibe, but the supernatural elements are similarly eerie. It’s like walking into a world you think you know, only to find it a shade away from what you expect. Except for them there’s not only more privilege issues than their MC cared about, but also some supernatural monster?

There’s a strong sense of suspense and mystery in The Book of Living Secrets. Roux balances not only a quest to unravel the secrets of this new world, but also the hope of Adelle and Connie to go home – if they can. It’s a nightmare of deserted streets and empty houses. However, what initially struck me about The Book of Living Secrets was the inequalities. How Connie and Adelle are dropped into different economic stratas. They both discover that there is more inequity in their favorite fictional world than they thought. That the privileged lives of their favorites always come at a cost.

Overall,

Additionally, I loved watching the queer romance story line. Connie is definitely my favorite of the two! Plus her romance story line was absolutely precious – favorite ship of the book. That’s not to say that Adelle did not have a fair bit of surprises up her sleeve, especially as she has to reconcile the differences in her favorite world with the reality. And at the end, I could not stop reading to figure out the secrets behind the fantasy, the dark and dangerous magic, and their quest to return home.

(Disclaimer: Some of the links below are affiliate links. For more information you can look at the Policy page. If you’re uncomfortable with that, know you can look up the book on any of the sites below to avoid the link)

If you like the idea of bookworms falling into their favorite books which combines with a bit of Gothic vibes and unsettling atmosphere? Then check The Book of Living Secrets out! While it takes a little bit of time for Adelle and Connie to get their bearings, once the dominoes of the world begin to crash down, it’s truly fascinating. The Book of Living Secrets is about friendship, not taking the easy road and quick answers, all with some delightful eeriness. Find The Book of Living Secrets on Goodreads, Amazon, Indiebound, Bookshop.org & The Book Depository.

Discussion

Do you have a favorite queer suspense/mystery YA?


Share this post



2 thoughts on “Review: The Book of Living Secrets by Madeleine Roux

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.